The Greenville Arts Council promotes the rich cultural heritage of the region, and stimulates and encourages cultural activities, arts appreciation, arts education, and the creative works of artists. The E.E. Bass Foundation works diligently to build a strong vibrant community by providing a space for a variety of cultural events, ranging from community theatre to art exhibits and lectures.  


The Greenville Arts Council was founded in 1983 after the success of a community-driven celebration of our literary and artistic heritage: The Time Has Come. (1982) The founders of the organization were: Georgie Fisher, Robert Jenkins, Chuck Jordan, Gayden Metcalfe, Seymour Weiss, and Leila Wynn. The organization has continued to grow and thrive, and a second festival of "The Time Has Come" was celebrated in 2010, further celebrating our heritage while recognizing up-and-coming authors and artists. 

GAC moved into the E. E. Bass Cultural Arts Center on South Main Street in 2006 from its former home at the Wetherbee House when it merged with the Bass Foundation. The organization was originally housed in the May home on Washington Avenue. The Roger D. Malkin Gallery was created by funds from The Deer Creek Foundation in 2006.  In 2007, the Junior Women's Club turned over the ownership and care of the antique 1901 Armitage-Herschell Carousel after its restoration to the E. E. Bass Cultural Arts Center. Today, the Greenville Arts Council’s Executive Director, Office Coordinator, and its Board of Directors maintain the organization as well as the E. E. Bass Education and Development Foundation, the E. E. Bass Cultural Arts Center grounds, the Malkin Gallery, and the historic carousel.



Executive Director, Eleanor F. Wright             email: execdirector@greenville-arts-council.com

Office Coordinator, Sandra Stillman                email: execadmin@greenville-arts-council.com


Board Members

President: Hillary Boggs               Washington County Economic Alliance, Controller

Vice President: Janet Benzing     Delta Regional Medical Center, Executive Director of Ancillary Services

Treasurer: Jon Alverson                Delta Democrat Times, Publisher

Secretary: Elisabeth Steele            Greenville Travel/Let’s Travel

Ex-Officio: Walt Stephens            Regions Bank, President

Kathy Bullard                                    Greenville Golf and Country Club, Social Manager

Patricia Burton                                  Realtor

Tamicko Fair                                      Fourth Court District, District Manager

M. Austin Frye                                  Fourth Court District, Assistant District Attorney

Breanna Horton                               Yard Cards, Owner

Dee Jones                                            Hope Credit Union, Vice President Community & Economic Development

George King                                       Suddenlink, General Manager

Larkin Mitchell, M.D.                    Delta Regional Medical Center, Anesthesiologist

Clinton Pettiet                                  Pettiet Agricultural Services, Inc.

Wesley Smith                                     Washington County CVB, Executive Director

Melanie Mitchell Tucker               Visual Artist



323 South Main Street 
Greenville, Mississippi 38701

Open Tuesday thru Friday

9am - 5pm

© 2023 by Mission Gallery. Proudly created with Wix.com 

500 Terry Francois St. San Francisco, CA 94158

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean